Log in

No account? Create an account
entries friends calendar profile Previous Previous Next Next
eBay confusion - shadows of echoes of memories of songs — LiveJournal
eBay confusion
I got an email from eBay saying:

"Dear customer, you have been billed for $15.00 recently. Please update your billing information at eBay Billing Center."

I can't find "eBay Billing Center" on eBay. I don't know what they want me to update. I don't even know why I've been billed $15.00, unless it's for the thing I ordered on eBay that never turned up, which the company said they were chasing up, but they haven't got back to me...

Confused & irritated of Cambridge.

Update: Oh, okay, it's just spam. I feel all stupid now for letting it worry me. *sigh*
Read 12 | Write
huskyteer From: huskyteer Date: February 20th, 2004 07:43 am (UTC) (Link)
I had this last night. Despite the ebay.com addy, I'm choosing to believe it's spam.
beingjdc From: beingjdc Date: February 20th, 2004 07:43 am (UTC) (Link)
Probably the worst scam ever to get passwords by a backdoor, they've forgotten to link to the actual backdoor...
j4 From: j4 Date: February 20th, 2004 07:50 am (UTC) (Link)


julietk From: julietk Date: February 20th, 2004 07:52 am (UTC) (Link)
Yeah, I got it, dithered for a moment, & then concluded "spam".
simont From: simont Date: February 20th, 2004 07:56 am (UTC) (Link)
I just had two of those. Both had Received headers claiming to have originated from a real ebay machine, but the headers then said they were received from that ebay machine by %random-dialup-weirdybox and sent on from there to my MX. The first time it took me a moment to look beyond the apparently genuine ebay machine in the first Received header, but then I noticed the dodgy dialup machine at the next hop, and when I got another one fifteen minutes later mentioning a totally different dodgy dialup box it confirmed my theory that the first Received header was simply invented by the real originators at the dodgy dialup boxes.

If you read the text form of the mail rather than the HTML (as I did), you might also have been disinclined to suspect it was spam because there weren't any links to fake ebay URLs; that confused me for a while too, until I thought to look in the HTML form of the message and found all the URLs redirected through r.aol.com.

Summary: it's spam, but it confused me for long enough to wonder whether someone really had signed me up for eBay without my knowledge!
j4 From: j4 Date: February 20th, 2004 08:39 am (UTC) (Link)


If you read the text form of the mail rather than the HTML

Oh! I didn't even notice that there was an HTML version. I see it now. It looks a lot more spam-like.

sion_a From: sion_a Date: February 20th, 2004 08:45 am (UTC) (Link)
I've received one at some point today -- didn't see it until I went looking because the dialup it was coming from was RBL-listed and as such it disappeared into my spam folder. Mind you, NTL managed to send me a genuine service announcement (planned mail outage) which wound up there too, because they've managed to get their (admin, I assume) machine that relayed it RBL'd....
From: duncanneko Date: February 20th, 2004 09:30 am (UTC) (Link)


NTL seem to be pretty shit at this - I had a few e-mails to someone in america bounced back because (after much poking trying to work out wtf the error messages were on about) NTL's mail servers had gotten blacklisted.

Go NTL..
k425 From: k425 Date: February 20th, 2004 09:42 am (UTC) (Link)


The person in America wasn't on AOL, were they? AOL's blacklisted lots of ISPs as spamhosts.
imc From: imc Date: February 23rd, 2004 12:36 pm (UTC) (Link)
One of NTL's outgoing mail relays got itself listed at bl.spamcop.net last week. No idea on what grounds, since SpamCop has removed about 90% of the useful information that used to be present on the listing-query page (allegedly because `spammers were using the information to finesse the system') but I'm mildly confused because a relay, by definiton, shouldn't be the originator of any email.

In other news, I did get one of these eBay things on Friday, but I didn't see it because it came from a blacklisted open proxy and thus went straight into the spam folder. They didn't forget to put the link in - they just assumed you'd view the message in HTML (where the link is a JavaScript button) and their plain-text translator didn't copy the button into the text.

The server they want you to visit ( is the same one named in a PayPal spam that I did see (six times in all) because I have service@paypal.com whitelisted. It's still up, despite several reports to the IP block owner, though verify.html has now disappeared. Instead, the site now appears to contain a clone of LloydsTSB (including a copy of a letter advising customers to beware of Internet fraud but beginning with, of course, a request to validate your account ).
From: vatine Date: February 20th, 2004 08:02 am (UTC) (Link)
I've had quite a few of those, but not sent to the address I've given eBay, so I've safely conculded they're spam.
From: silicon_lotus Date: February 21st, 2004 05:48 pm (UTC) (Link)

The Root of All eBay

Were there any pictures in it? Even a single pixel like:

img href="http://MySpamserver/logsRequests




"The meek shall inherit the earth... in very small plots, about six feet by three." - LL
Read 12 | Write